Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

tumblr_m7h2wgeylg1qjnw5jo1_500“Blackbird singing in the dead of night, take these broken wings and learn to fly.”

My friend says he doesn’t enjoy the brilliance of The Beatles because “they use the same four chords in each of their songs.” I was appalled; how does one not appreciate the Beatles? I like to think of myself as a connoisseur of good music, and the Beatles is on the top of my list. Part of the intrigue of The Beatles is the simplicity of their music; nowadays, music is convoluted with auto-tune and technology of all sorts. It’s comforting to hear their serene voices sing breathtaking lyrics, with only a piano or guitar solo in the background.

If I could describe The Beatles using only one word, I would use “influential.” I mean, they really started the “British invasion” of music coming to America. And by “British Invasion,” I don’t mean the One Direction or The Wanted fandoms. But who knew they would instigate a revolution of teenage boy bands?

All in all, The Beatles broke through the limitations of their time period to create something that was greater in magnitude than their wildest dreams. They embarked on a journey with their creativity to create music; in the end they accomplished that goal, but also started a movement and redefined rock music.

In the words of John Lennon, “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”

