Tags

, , , , , , ,

Colourful 2014 in fiery sparklersI realize I have not blogged in ages. Maybe it’s the excitement of New Year’s fused with the guilt of resolutions, but I’ve decided to blog regularly again. It’s been a huge part of me in 2013 and I don’t plan to let that go anytime soon.

I don’t want to write a post about New Year resolutions or about “living life the fullest.” Despite its ups and downs, 2013 was a great year for me. I am going to highlight some of my favourite thoughts from 2013, and show how I will extend those thoughts in this new year.

In 2013, I began to unravel the beauty of getting lost in a big city with a best friend. My friend and I spent a few days in New York City last summer. Although we accidentally took the subway to Coney Island, we also strolled through Central Park and attended an incredible conference. I realized there was something magical about navigating a city alone: exploring its nooks and crannies, getting blinded by the lights, and conquering the public transportation system. In 2014, I hope to explore a city by myself, while simultaneously exploring more of myself in the process.

In 2013, my goodbye’s were becoming permanent when they should have been temporary. I graduated last June and left all the remnants of my high school life behind me. I still kept in contact with my best friends from high school, but I should have reached out to teachers, classmates, and individuals who have helped me succeed. In 2014, I promise to send a few more thank you notes, texts, emails, and hugs.

In 2013, I rejoiced in being a feminist. It was a monumental year for female leaders — from Sheryl Sandberg reminding us to lean in to Malala Yousafzai standing up to adversity. Pantene addressed gender equality in the workplace, while Dove showed us how women undervalue their beauty. Thank you for redefining what it means to be a feminist. In 2014, I vow to be more confident in pursuing feminism in all aspects of my life.

In 2013, I failed because I procrastinated. I let interview and internship opportunities slip through my fingers because I failed to prepare early. I crammed hard for exams that I should have studied for weeks in advance. Failure can emerge from various factors, but often the biggest obstacle prohibiting failure is myself. In 2014, I will work harder for the opportunities I want. Part of working harder means starting earlier.

In 2013, I unleashed my passion for writing. This blog became an outlet for me, accompanying me on long train rides and in local coffee shops. When I started university in the fall, I abandoned my blog because of my tedious workload. By doing so, I believe I let part of my creativity slip away. Writing came naturally to me; storytelling came naturally to me. In 2014, I want to become a storyteller again and document all my travels, opinions, and experiences.

2014. A chance to restart. Hope your year is filled with happiness, joy, self-reflection, and gratefulness!